SOLA festival 2022

After a long covid break SOLA festival continues its adventurous journey again! This time we will exceptionally have our yearly festival for experimental arts already in May.

For the first time the festival is in two parts:  Wednesday 4th of May we will have a free pre-festival club at Oodi Library’s Maijansali. The main festival takes place in our usual habitat in the WHS Teatteri Union: Friday and Saturday 13th and 14th of May.

The program consists of a varied selection of sonic and moving image experimentation. From the unique meeting of three titans of Finnish experimental scene Pakasteet (Mika Taanila & Jussi Lehtisalo) + Ilpo Väisänen, to the fluffy Estonian avant-pop of Maarja Nuut, onwards to the new-school electronic abstraction of Helena Pulkkinen and plenty of others!

The moving image program consists of the trailblazing queer-feminist experimentalism of Sandra Lahire. And Daïchi Saïtos landscape studies, crafted into pleasurable time and space -altering abstractions. Before the festival weekend we peek into the visionary universe of Saara Ekström.

More info about all the artists and program: www.solafestival.fi

The festival is organized in collaboration with WHS Teatteri Union and it’s supported by the Finnish Cultural Foundation.


Friday 13.5. WHS Teatteri Union

Sandra Lahire program 1
Daïchi Saïto program 1
Tina Mariane Krogh Madsen
Fågelbörs (Tuure Tammi, Jaakko Tolvi, Matti Luokkanen, Tero Kemppainen)
Helena Pulkkinen

Saturday 14.5. WHS Teatteri Union

Sandra Lahire program 2
Daïchi Saïto program 2
Kruununhaka Soundwalk
Minna Koskenlahti
Pakasteet (Jussi Lehtisalo & Mika Taanila) + Ilpo Väisänen
Maarja Nuut

Friday 13th of May 10e
Saturday 14th of May 10e
Friday & Saturday 15e




Friday 13.5.

Sandra Lahire: Arrows 1984 15min DCP
Daïchi Saïto: Chiasmus 2003 16mm 8min
LIVE 1 Tina Mariane Krogh Madsen
Daïchi Saïto: Never A Foot Too Far, Even 2012 14min 16mm (double projection)
LIVE 2 Fågelbörs (Tuure Tammi, Jaakko Tolvi, Matti Luokkanen, Tero Kemppainen)
Sandra Lahire: Terminals 1986 18 min DCP
LIVE 3  Helena Pulkkinen
Daïchi Saïto: earthearthearth 2022 30min 35mm
LIVE 4 Tomutonttu

Saturday 14.5.

Kruununhaka Sound Walk

Sandra Lahire: Lady Lazarus 1991 25min DCP
LIVE 5 Minna Koskenlahti
Daïchi Saïto: Engram of Returning 2015 18:30min 35mm
Sandra Lahire: Night Dances 1995 15 min DCP
LIVE 6 Zherbin
LIVE 7 Pakasteet (Jussi Lehtisalo & Mika Taanila) + Ilpo Väisänen
LIVE 8 Maarja Nuut
Daïchi Saïto: Trees of Syntax, Leaves of Axis 2009 10min 35mm


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tämä näytös on jo mennyt.